International Universities




The University of Gezira was established to serve the community, and to link education with the requirements of development and make it more relevant to human and environmental needs. This is evident from the content of educational mission entrusted to it and identified in its function to study the environment of Sudan and in particular the rural environment, to identify the issues and conduct research around it. With this concept, the University of Gezira began its path exploring problems of society, training professional cadre capable of utilizing the potential of the rural areas of Sudan and conduct basic and applied scientific research to serve the rural community.

Now and after more than three decades since it’s establishment, the University comprises Seventeen faculties spreading all over the Gezira state, in addition to the community college. The number of research institutes in various scientific and humanitarian disciplines has risen to nine, specialized research and training centers were established in faculties and institutes .

The university of Gezira is currently spread in nine campuses in the Gezira state and one campus in the northern state. Campuses in the city of Wad Medani are the University City in Neshaishiba, Elrazi Campus and Hantoub Campus. The University City in Neshaishiba is located in the northern outskirt of the city of Wad Medani, and includes the university administration, central deanships, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Economics and Rural Development, Textiles, and the National Institute for Development of Horticultural Exports, the Sugar Institute and the University of Gezira Farm. Elrazi campus, is located in the southern part of the city of Wad Medani and includes Faculties of Medicine, Pharmacy, Applied Medical Sciences, Medical Laboratory Science, Dentistry, and Mathematical and Computer Sciences, and the Water Management and Irrigation Institute, The National Cancer Institute and the National Oilseeds Processing and Research Institute, in addition to the Education Promotion Center, University Press and University of Gezira Consulting House. The campus in Hantoub houses the Faculty of Education - Hantoub and the Institute of Islamization of Knowledge.

There are six other University campuses in different locations in the Gezira state, including the Faculty of Educational Sciences which is located in Elkamlin town, the Faculty of Education – El Hassahissa located in El Hassahisa town, the Faculty of Animal Production located in Elmanagil, the Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences located in Elhush in the South Gezira Locality and the Faculty of Developmental Studies located in Umm Elgora Locality. At the Locality of Wad Medani in addition to the city of Wad Medani campuses there is the Faculty of Communication Sciences in Fadasi (Wad Medani suburb). and at Eldaba town (Northern state) there is the National Institute for Desert studies.

The number of students enrolled in the University of Gezira has reached 18221 students registered for bachelor degree, 3350 for technical Diploma and 3622 students in postgraduate programs. This has coincided with the development of the infrastructure of Faculties and Institutes and furnishing.